Mission StatementThe Santa Clara Valley Urban Runoff Pollution Prevention Program (SCVURPPP or Program) is an association of thirteen cities and towns in Santa Clara Valley, the County of Santa Clara, and the Santa Clara Valley Water District that share a common National Pollutant Discharge Elimination (NPDES) municipal stormwater permit to discharge stormwater to South San Francisco Bay.  The Program and member agencies implement pollution prevention, source control, monitoring and outreach programs aimed at reducing pollution in stormwater runoff, protecting water quality and beneficial uses of San Francisco Bay and Santa Clara Valley creeks and rivers. The Program also promotes valuing stormwater as an important resource. Since 1993, the Program and member agencies have received a variety of national awards in recognition of their programs and efforts.

FY 19-20 Annual Report

In June 1990, the Program received the first NPDES municipal stormwater permit in the nation from the San Francisco Bay Regional Water Quality Control Board (Water Board). The permit was reissued in 1995, 2001 and 2009 and 2015. The permit reissued in 2009, 2015, and 2022 is referred to the Municipal Regional Stormwater NPDES Permit (MRP). The MRP covers stormwater discharges from a total of 76 municipalities and local agencies in Alameda, Contra Costa, San Mateo and Santa Clara Counties, and the cities of Fairfield, Suisun City, and Vallejo. Challenging stormwater management requirements in the current MRP include:

2020-21 Program Summary

The Program is organized, coordinated, and implemented in accordance with a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) resigned by the member agencies in 2016. The MOA covers the responsibilities of each member agency and a cost-sharing formula for joint expenditures. The Program’s Management Committee, consisting of one designated representative and one alternate from each member agency, meets monthly to discuss and make decisions regarding Program business. The Management Committee was formed in accordance with the Program’s by-laws.

City of Sunnyvale

West Valley